Group members

Post-Doctoral Researchers


Magdalena Lozinska

Magdalena is from Poland and completed her MChem in Analytical Chemistry from the Wroclaw University of Technology (2009) and PhD from the University of St Andrews (2013). After her PhD she was awarded PhD+1 Scholarship and stayed at the University of St Andrews as a postdoctoral researcher (2013-2015). She spent one year (2015-2016) working for GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) in Montrose (Scotland) characterising pharmaceuticals and working with GMP documentation. She is now back at the University of St Andrews as a research fellow and her work is focused on synthesising and characterising novel materials for Versatile Adsorption Processes for the Capture of Carbon Dioxide from Industrial Sources (FlexICCS). This is a collaborative project with the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of Edinburgh.

dsc_0255-1Veselina Georgieva

Veselina is from Bulgaria and received her MChem (Hons 1st class) in Material Chemistry from Sofia University (2012). During her masters degree she was an ERASMUS student for 9 months at the University of Caen (France), where subsequently she was awarded a PhD scholarship (2012-2015). During her doctorate studies at the Laboratory of Catalysis & Spectrochemistry (Caen) she developed a new versatile approach for the preparation of zeolite nanocrystals and their post-synthesis modification and applications. She joined the Wright group as a research fellow, late 2016, and is working on the synthesis and modification of ‘adaptable’ zeolites for selective adsorption of fuel-related gases. The project is in collaboration with the Universities of Bath and Edinburgh as well as industrial partners.

PhD students

RAM (2)

Ram Prasad (4th YEAR)

Ram comes from Kerala, India. After obtaining a bachelors in Chemistry from University of Kerala (2012), he joined the National Institute of Technology, Trichy for his master’s where he did completed a final year project under the guidance of Dr. S. Anandan on manganese oxide/graphene nanocomposite for supercapacitor applications. He was also selected as the Indian Academy of Sciences Summer Research Fellow of the year (2013), after working with Dr. Gopalan Rajaraman of the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. Ram started his PhD in September 2014 as part of the EPSRC CRITICAT CDT and he is under the joint supervision of Professor Wright and Dr. M Clarke on MOFs as active and highly porous supports for molecular catalysts. Other than research Ram enjoys reading fictions and watching thriller movies.

SCI Scholarship photograph- Angelica Orsi

Angelica Orsi (4th YEAR)

Angelica is from South Wales and completed her MChem in Chemistry with industrial placement from the University of St Andrews (2014). During her undergraduate studies she spent one year (2012-2013) working for SINTEF Materials and Chemistry in Trondheim (Norway) studying protective coatings for bipolar plates in PEM fuel cells. Her work now focuses on synthesizing MOFs as nanoparticles with exceptional CO2 adsorption capacities and integrate them into polymer-based membranes for CO2 capture and separation from flue streams of power plants. This research has been implemented for the EU collaborative project E=M4CO2 (Energy efficient MOF-based Mixed Matrix Membranes for CO2 capture), funded by the 7th European Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development. Angelica was awarded an SCI Scholarship for her PhD studies.

ABigail watts (3rd YEAR)

Abigail is from Caerphilly, South Wales and graduated from Cardiff University (2015) with an MChem in Chemistry.  Abigail started her PhD in the Wright group at University of St Andrews in September 2015. Her research will be directed towards the design and synthesis of microporous zeolites, with the aim of using hydrothermal synthesis to prepare novel zeolites. Abigail’s PhD is an industrial CASE award with Johnson Matthey.

Ivalina minova (2nd year)

Ivalina is from Bulgaria and completed her MChem in Chemistry with industrial placement from the University of Durham (2016). During her undergraduate studies she spent one year (2015-2016) working at Johnson Matthey’s Technology Centre, Billingham, developing novel heterogeneous catalysts. Ivalina is an EPSRC CRITICAT CDT student. Her research will be directed towards studying structure-property relationships of zeolites and zeotypes for applications in catalysis. She will develop methods to investigate MTO and SCR reactions throughout space and time in single crystals and perform synchrotron-based experiments (in-situ IR and EXAFS spectroscopy). The work will be carried out in collaboration with Professor Andrew Beale at the EPSRC Catalysis Hub, Harwell. Iva enjoys swimming, hiking and playing team sports with her colleagues.

Elliott bruce (1st year)

Elliott is from Edinburgh, Scotland and graduated with an MChem in Chemistry from the University of St Andrews (2017). In his final year project, he studied guest-host interactions in paramagnetic MOFs under Prof. Sharon Ashbrook. Elliott joined the Wright group for his PhD in September 2017, with his research focusing on the synthesis and characterisation of zeolites, for application in gas adsorption and catalysis. Elliott’s PhD is jointly funded by the EPSRC and Johnson Matthey.


Cameron Franssen is working with Veselina on “Adaptable Zeolites for Selective Adsorption of Carbon Dioxide”.

Amber Rigg is working with Ram on “Employing terpyridine-based di- and tritopic linkers towards synthesis of early transition metal-based MOF catalysts”.

Ailsa Edward is also working with Ram on “Designed synthesis of di- and tetracarboxylic linker-based early transition metal MOFs towards selective gas adsorption and catalysis”.